Harbor Town Marina: An Unexpected Surprise

On Saturday, April 13, 2013, I went to Harbor Town on Mud Island in Memphis, TN.  The occasion? The 2nd Annual Harbor Town Craw fish Festival.  The only reason why I remember the exact date is because of this poster.  Look below.

Indeed, I left my house to go and eat craw fish, known in some quarters as the “cockroach of the sea.”  I prefer calling it craw fish.  I doubt that any sane person would want to put a cockroach in their mouths.

Alas! When we got there, we discovered that the festival had been postponed to the following Saturday.  So, we came a week too early.  This is the poster that informed us.

The poster that gave us the news

The poster that gave us the news

Just before we left, however, I saw this sign to the Harbor Town Marina.  I had no idea what a marina was, and did not know there was one right behind these buildings.  So, we set out on a little adventure to visit (or at least view) the marina.  Thankfully, there was an arrow pointing in the right direction.  What on earth would we have done without an arrow?

Oh yes, that yellow building is a Montessori school.

Follow the sign!

Follow the sign!

A very short walk later, and voila, the marina!

The marina (minus the tree blocking my view)

The marina (minus the tree blocking my view)

According to Wikipedia, a marina is:

“a dock or basin with moorings and supplies for yachts and small boats.

A marina differs from a port in that a marina does not handle large passenger ships or cargo from freighters.”

HarborTown Marina Mud Island Memphis Tennessee (2)

HarborTown Marina Mud Island Memphis Tennessee (6)

Leftmost view

HarborTown Marina Mud Island Memphis Tennessee (5)

HarborTown Marina Mud Island Memphis Tennessee (4)

Rightmost view: Can you see the pyramid?

We did not get close because it was a fairly steep descent and I was not thrilled with the prospect of tumbling down.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it.

So now you know what a marina looks like.  You’re welcome!

6 thoughts on “Harbor Town Marina: An Unexpected Surprise

Leave a Reply

