5 Fun Reasons why Johnny was so long at the Fair

Remember that nursery rhyme, ‘Oh Dear! What can the matter be?’ Here’s the version I remember:

O dear, what can the matter be?
O dear, what can the matter be?
O dear, what can the matter be?
Johnny’s so long at the fair.

He promised he’d bring me a bunch of blue ribbons.
He promised he’d bring me a bunch of blue ribbons.
He promised he’d bring me a bunch of blue ribbons.
To tie up my bonny brown hair.

[Source]

So, what triggered off the mini-walk down memory lane? Well, my short answer is the Delta Fair and Music Festival, which I attended last weekend. And now, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.  Well, mostly the pictures.

Entrance to the fair

1. Fair Food

What’s a fair without all those calorie-heavy foods? A fun-less one, I say.  So, for the few hours at the fair, you can have your fill of:

  • Funnel Cakes
  • Fried Twinkies (and just about any other candy bar)
  • Fried Turkey legs (that make you wonder what the actual turkey looked like before its legs made it to the fryer)
  • Frozen Custard and Ice-Cream
  • Cotton Candy
  • And just about everything else that fits between two buns.  Think burgers, hot-dogs … the usual suspects.

 

Turkey legs … The sign says so!

 

Protein overload

 

Even more protein

 

… And of course, the fried pastries … and anything else that can be wrapped in batter and deep-fried

2. The Rides, of course!

 

Rides at the fair are in my opinion, some of the most memorable pictures of childhood.  Mind you, there were both adults and children on the rides, which I observed from not actually getting on any rides myself *wink*

 

 

Sea of Humanity

 

3. Fancy Cars

There were a few air-conditioned halls, and on entering one of them, imagine my surprise when I saw a fine display of vintage fancy cars.  It made me wonder just how much it cost to restore them and maintain them.  Anyway, I feasted my eyes, and here are some of the cars I saw:

This one had many trophies in front it

Don’t you just love that yellow?

 

4. Petting Zoo

 

This was supposedly a ‘Children’s’ Petting Zoo.  That didn’t stop me from going in and invading the animals’ space.  They couldn’t voice any complaints for obvious reasons.  As for the goat (pictured below), I wonder how it will taste in Ofada stew (a.k.a Ayamashe) or as the center piece in Isi ewu.  What about Nkwobi? I will just have to keep wondering because I did not leave the fair with that goat.  Hiss!

 

The goat was very cooperative, I have to say

 

5. Weird Shows

There were so many weird shows at this fair.  And you see how I took the picture from the opposite side of the road? That’s because I had mentally distanced myself from them.  Why would I want to see a real spider woman? Oh no! I am very content to watch Spiderman 1 – 5 and not worry about being attacked by radioactive insects.  Some things are not for ‘lookery.’  These weird shows fit that description.

Spider woman? Mba! I did not go there o!

 

So, what fun activities do you think I left out?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 Fun Reasons why Johnny was so long at the Fair

    • 9jaFoodie: You need to have seen how some people (me included) looked longingly at the goat. I can bet that ‘pet’ was the farthest thing from their minds.

      Thanks for visiting by the way.

  1. Pingback: Caption This: Hillbilly Limbmozene Service | Bakwai Photo Journal

Leave a Reply

