Buffalo Soldier Art Exhibit

Last month, February was Black History Month.  For whatever reason, I usually don’t pay attention to the special activities organized to celebrate the month.  However, this year, my attention was drawn to an announcement at my local church for a ‘Buffalo Soldier Exhibit.’  What was a Buffalo Soldier?  I had no idea, but I was certainly going to find out.  To make things even more interesting, the pieces that would be exhibited were from private collections.  What this meant was that people would be exhibiting art works that had been in their families for years.

Sunday finally came.  It was the last Sunday in February, and the ushers handed us these little cards:

Buffalo Soldier Art
Christian Life HymnalThen after the service, we all headed to the gym for the exhibit.  Okay, I’ll let the pictures do the talking for now.

Buffalo Soldier ArtBuffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Somewhere around the middle of the exhibition, I went up to this group of tables where some ladies were stationed and they were explaining what Buffalo soldiers were.  One of the ladies was even explaining the different reasons why the soldiers were called “Buffalo” soldiers.

Buffalo Soldier Art

Can you see her behind the table?

Wikipedia summarized what she said nicely:

Buffalo Soldiers originally were members of the U.S. 10th Cavalry Regiment of theUnited States Army, formed on September 21, 1866 at Fort LeavenworthKansas.

The nickname was given to the “NegroCavalry” by the Native American tribes theyfought; the term eventually became synonymous with all of the African-Americanregiments formed in 1866:

Although several African-American regiments were raised during the Civil War to fight alongside the Union Army (including the 54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry and the many United States Colored Troops Regiments), the “Buffalo Soldiers” were established by Congress as the first peacetime all-black regiments in the regular U.S. Army.

After the mini-lecture, I moved on and to look closely at the other interesting pieces on the table:

Buffalo Soldier ArtBuffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

 

After I left that table, I went to look at some more artwork:

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

Buffalo Soldier Art

And then it was time for Sunday School.  The End! 

7 thoughts on “Buffalo Soldier Art Exhibit

    • Single Nigerian Man: Thanks! I had no idea Bob Marley had anything to do with Buffalo Soldiers until I was preparing this entry. Now, I have learnt something new. Imagine that 😀 Thanks for visiting back.

  1. @SNM: Me too! And I have never been curious to find out what the term meant to my shame. Thanks for this, Sharon. I’m now going to crank up my Bob Marley and listen for new meanings!

    • Nwunye: He he! You’re very welcome. It was a first for me too (that day), because I had not idea what they were before then. Thankfully, I left the exhibition better informed. Another reference to Bob Marley? I am not familiar with that song o. He was probably referring to these buffalo soldiers though. Well, crank it up and enjoy!

  2. Interesting. Feels like I have just been through a one hour history class. I knew a little about Buffalo soldiers, but I didn’t know they were an all-black regiment. Thanks for sharing.

    • Upwardliving: Just one hour? You sure it wasn’t one hour AND 30 minutes? LOL! Just like you, I didn’t know there WAS an all-black regiment, talk less of what they were called. Now, I know, and so do you. And you’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

