Snake in a box

Fear not! I won’t be putting up any pictures of snakes.  Big relief, huh? Me too.  I detest those creepy, crawly creatures, but I do have a story to tell.

About a week ago, I went out to run an errand.  Actually, I went to grab breakfast.
Chick-Fil-A Breakfast

Breakfast: Doesn't it look yummy?

On my way back, the traffic light stopped me, and the truck in front of me.
Red Truck

Not the actual truck, but good substitute

While waiting for the light to turn green, in the space of those few minutes, my eyes wandered and caught sight of a cardboard box.  It was on the back end of an open trailer thingy hitched to the truck.
Empty carton

Imagine "Serpentin" inscribed on this box

And then, I read this inscription on the box: ‘SERPENTIN.’  Yes, it was “Serpentin” without the ‘E’ and not ‘Serpentine.’ As soon as I read it, I got apprehensive.  I detest snakes.  I know some people like them and actually keep them as pets, but I do not fall into that category.  I don’t know what was in the box, but for a moment, I had a “What would you do if you saw a snake” moment.  *Shudders*
I remember seeing snakes in secondary school in jars of some liquid to preserve them.  But they were dead and even then, they were creepy.  I don’t recall ever seeing a live snake in my life.  I am not even remotely interested sef.
Have you ever seen a live snake before?
4 thoughts on “Snake in a box

  1. I don’t think you detest them as much as I do. They give me the creeps. Can’t even watch then TV let alone be close to one. Recently I saw a pic of a 3 headed cobra on the net and I felt nauseous . I almost puked.It even disturbed my sleep for a night.
    But truth is, if we don’t learn how to handle the sight of snakes we might panic and act unintelligently if we ever come close to one.

    • I see, that makes two of us, as per finding snakes creepy. A 3-headed cobra? I don’t even want to imagine it, talk less of encountering one. God forbid! I get your point about learning to handle them. It’s true, but I just don’t want to even encounter one.

  2. I love snakes! Well, not all snakes but some of them have looks that I like. You know what? I need to do a post on this. A python is the totem of my hometown. Thanks for reminding me!

    • You do? Please don’t tell me you own a pet snake. I can’t stand them. What do you mean by “looks that you like?” As far as I am concerned, they all look the same, i.e. evil. (giggles) A python is the totem of your hometown? That’s interesting. Maybe that explains your love for snakes then.

      And as for the reminder, you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

